Number of positions:



1-year clinical

2-year clinical/research available upon request

Commencing August of one year and ending in July of the following year

Fellowship Directors:

Brian Kwon MD, PhD, FRCSC

Scott Paquette MD, MEd, FRCSC


Tamir Ailon MD, MPH, FRCSC

Raphaële Charest-Morin MD, FRCSC

Charlotte Dandurand MD, MSc, FRCSC

Nicolas Dea MD, MSc, FRCSC

Marcel Dvorak MD, FRCSC

Charles Fisher MD, MHSC, FRCSC

Brian Kwon MD, PhD, FRCSC

Scott Paquette MD, MEd, FRCSC

John Street MD, PhD, FRCSI

How to Apply

Vancouver Acute Care and the University of British Columbia offer comprehensive interdisciplinary orthopaedic and neurosurgical spine fellowships in all aspects of adult spinal care. One- and two-year fellowships with basic scientific research opportunities in biomedical engineering and regeneration neurobiology are offered.

Working with a combination of eight spine surgeons, Fellows will participate in the surgical treatment of an average of 250 operations, clinical care of 30 to 40 in-patients, including those at the regional Acute Spinal Cord Injury Unit. The interdisciplinary Back Pain Clinic, hospital-based private offices and outpatient clinics provide exposure to elective and emergent cases and opportunities for follow-up and for new patient evaluation.

Elective referral practices expose the Fellow to a balanced, evidence-based approach to the treatment of degenerative disease, complex spinal tumours, infections, inflammatory arthritis and complex deformity. As the Vancouver Spine Surgery Institute is the primary trauma centre for the province, Fellows will be exposed to a wide range of complex traumatic and non-traumatic conditions.

An active research program presents many research opportunities for Fellows. Active participation in the academic program and completion of a research project to the point of publication are mandatory for successful completion of the Fellowship. Areas of emphasis include the management of acute spinal cord injuries, spine trauma, spine fractures, inflammatory arthritis of the spine, metastatic epidural cord compression, spine education, acute and degenerative disc disease, and several ongoing prospective randomized surgical trials. Collaboration with the Division of Orthopaedic Engineering is also required.


Educational Contract & Academic Objectives

  • To be trained under the supervision of our group of specialized spinal surgeons on a diverse range of elective and spinal trauma surgery cases
  • Surgical rotation will occur between both the neurosurgical and orthopaedic spine surgeons at Vancouver General Hospital
  • Regular clinical attendance for new patients and follow-up/post-surgical patients
  • Care of in-patients
  • Attendance at weekly rounds/grand rounds
  • Attendance at morning meetings and regular call rotation
  • Participation in the spine group’s clinical and academic activity, including three to four research projects during the Fellowship term
  • Required presentation at Ortho Update/Research Day

Spine Fellowship Coordinator

Sarah Hewitt

Room 3114
910 West 10th Avenue
Vancouver, BC
V5Z 1M9

Phone: 604-875-4111 x 66276

Fax: 604-875-4677

Email: [email protected]

Past Fellows

John Albeitz Brisbane, Australia

Nizar Algarni Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Farhaan Altaf England

Alwalaa Althagafi Saudi Arabia

Aziz Al Arifi Saudi Arabia

Chris Bailey London, ON

Dan Banaszek Boston, MA

Nuno Batista Portugal

Arthur Bartolozzi IV United States

Nicolas Beresford-Cleary United Kingdom

Patrick Chan Melbourne, Australia

Raphaële Charest-Morin Sherbrooke, QC

William Chu Kwon Canada

Sean Comstock Halifax, NS

Turker Dalkilic Regina, SK

Chris Daly Queensland, Australia

Charlotte Dandurand Quebec

Nicolas Dea Sherbrooke, QC

Christian Diapola University of Massachusetts

Hank Eiserloh Baton Rouge, LA

Jesse Eisler Cincinnati, OH

Nathan Evaniew Calgary, AB

Alexis Falicov Seattle, WA

Ian Fyfe North Dakota, USA

Lukas Grassner Salzburg, Austria

R. Andrew Glennie Halifax, NS

Tony Goldschlager Melbourne, Australia

Mike Goytan Winnipeg, MB

Lukas Grassner Salzburg, Austria

Jaswinder Grover Las Vegas, NV

Rob Van de Guchte Lincoln, NB

Dennis Hartig Brisbane, Australia

Joel Hoekema Bellingham, WA

Tom Inglis New Zealand

Mushtaque Ishaque London, England

Eyal Itshayek Jerusalem, Israel

Michael Johnson Winnipeg, MB

S. Mohammed Karim Rochester, NY

Adrienne Kelly Ontario

Ory Keynan Tel Aviv, Israel

Stephen Kingwell Ottawa, ON

Nikolaus Koegl Austria

Mathieu Laflamme Quebec City, Quebec

Oliver Lasry Montreal, Quebec

Robert Lee London, England

Brian Lenehan Dublin, Ireland

Peter Lewkonia Calgary, AB

Steve Maloon Surrey, BC

Travis Marion London, ON

Ralf Mobb Sydney, Australia

Etienne Bourassa Moreau Montreal, QC

Melissa Nadeau Montreal, QC

Anick Nater Vancouver, BC

Ian Neil Jamaica

Michael Nikolakis Edmonton, AB

Alpesh Patel Auckland, New Zealand

Jeremy Reynolds Oxford, England

Joost Rutges Netherlands

Vic Sahajpal St. John’s, NL

Davor Saravanja Sydney, Australia

Rowan Schouten Christchurch, New Zealand

Sandeep Singh Delhi, India

Supriya Singh London, Ontario

Babek Sharifi Edmonton, AB

Joseph Sparkes Dublin, Ireland

Shreya Srinivas London, UK

John Street Dublin, Ireland

Jin Wee Tee Australia

Ken Thomas Calgary, AB

Charles Touchette Trois Rivieres, QC

Perry Turner Christchurch, New Zealand

Zhi Wang Montreal, QC

Reina Yao Vancouver, BC

Gordon Yee Denver, CO

Julien Zaldivar France

Leo Zeller Cairns, Australia

Hanbing Zhou Boston, MA